- Bibliographic research
- Electronic periodicals -full text
- Online resources with open access
- Other resources
ANALECTA (open access)
Provides access to a compilation of Italian periodicals on culture. Contains over 100,000 bibliographic records of articles published since 1982 in 152 Italian periodicals on general culture, such as: Aut Aut, Belfagor, Contemporanea, Critica Marxista, Economia della cultura, Filosofia politica, Limes, Micromega, and Rivista italiana di scienza politica.
BPR: Bibliography of the Italian parliament and electoral studies (open access)
A collection of references to books and periodical articles on the following: the Italian parliament since the granting of the Albertine Statute in 1848; the National Council and the Constituent Assembly; studies on electoral matters (laws, procedures, and behavior), with reference to political elections within the same historical period, both nationally and locally. The BPR contains legal studies, first and foremost, but also includes studies conducted on political science, organizational science, and political sociology, as well as historiographical literature on the subject. It presents a selection of full-text documents (indexes of monographs, sentences, journal articles, and contributions in miscellaneous works) attached to the bibliographic references.
Archive of legal doctrine that contains abstracts of articles published in over 470 Italian journals (including notes to sentences, reviews, comments on legislation, conference papers, and critical reviews). Every record consists of: bibliographic references for each individual contribution; an abstract, edited by ITTIG, indicating the topics discussed by the author and the theses supported; one or more classification codes that identify the legal area; data regarding sources for regulations and case law cited by the contribution’s author.
ESSPER (open access)
Compilation of Italian periodicals in the field of economics, and in the social, legal and historical sciences. Contains around 600,000 bibliographic records of articles published since 1982 in over 850 periodicals.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Bibliographical database on world history (except for North American history). Contains bibliographic records and abstracts of periodical articles, monographs and theses on historical topics, covering the period from 1450 to today.
Business Source Ultimate
Full text and bibliographic citations of articles from over 3,000 scientific periodicals on economics and the social sciences (full text of around 2,400 peer-reviewed e-journals) and from around 2,000 specialized magazines. Although created for research in economics, it also provides excellent coverage of other disciplines such as: communications, media, journalism, and public relations.
Europa World Plus
Online access to Europa World Year Book and to Regional Surveys of the World published by Routledge. The Library subscribes to the following five publications:
- Europa World Year Book (access to archives going back to 2006)
- Africa South of the Sahara
- The Far East and Australasia
- The Middle East and North Africa
- The USA and Canada
The database supplies information related to the economic, political and geographical situation in the various world regions, statistical data by country, as well as contact information and details related to over 2,000 international organizations. It is continuously being updated and also provides information on recent events and political elections.
Online information service, created by Factiva, a company belonging to the Dow Jones & Reuters group, which provides access to over 10,000 information sources from 152 countries in 22 languages through a single interface. Some of the major newspapers available are: The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Washington Post, The Globe and Mail, Financial Times, Les Echos, South China Morning Post, Australian Financial Review, Sydney Morning Herald, Straits Times, Yomiuri Shimbun, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, and The Irish Times. Sources in Italian that are released as part of the service include ANSA, Corriere della Sera, La Stampa, La Repubblica, Italia Oggi and Sole 24 Ore (from 2001 to 2007).
The collection the Library subscribes to includes the following titles in the fields of law and political science:
- Cittadinanza europea [European Citizenship] (2010-)
- Democrazia e diritto [Democracy and Law] (2003-)
- Diritti umani e diritto internazionale [Human Rights and International Law] (2007-2012)
- Diritto immigrazione e cittadinanza [Immigration Law and Citizenship] (2000-)
- Minorigiustizia: rivista interdisciplinare di studi giuridici, psicologici, pedagogici e sociali sulla relazione fra minorenni e giustizia [Minorigiustizia: the interdisciplinary journal of legal, psychological, pedagogical and social studies on the relationship between minors and justice] (2000-)
- Parlamenti regionali [Regional Parliaments] (2001-2005)
- Questione giustizia [Justice Issues](2000-)
- Ritorno al Diritto [Return to Law] (2005-2008)
JSTOR Art & Sciences I
The complete text of the historical collection of over 170 of the most important and historic international periodicals. The collection covers various disciplinary areas, such as economics, history (including the journals of the American Historical Association), statistics, political science, and demographics. Coverage starts at the first volume for all periodicals, but there is usually a period of two to three years before publishing is allowed.
Oxford University Press - E-journals
Access to over 140 electronic journals from the Oxford publishing house, related to the following fields: Humanities, Law and Social Sciences. Coverage starts from 1996.
The complete text of over 100 peer-reviewed periodicals published by academic publishing houses. The Social Sciences collection, which the Library subscribes to, covers the following fields: economics, marketing, mathematics, law, political science, regional studies, history, anthropology, sociology, psychology, and pedagogy.
The database provides access to the full text of articles published in journals published by: the American Psychological Association, APA Educational Publishing Foundation, Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. It includes over 110 periodicals – all of which are peer-reviewed for a total of over 165,000 records – which cover both the theoretical and clinical aspects of psychology and the correlated disciplines (psychiatry, sociology, pedagogy, physiology, pharmacology, and communications).
Rivisteweb Il Mulino
Electronic archive of Il Mulino’s journals: over 50 titles are currently available in electronic format, of which around 35 are in the following fields: culture and society, history, philosophy, sociology, media and communications, and politics. Titles include: La Cultura, Il Mulino, Problemi dell’Informazione, Rassegna Italiana di Sociologia, Rivista italiana di scienza politica, Rivista di filosofia, and Rivista di storia economica.
Volumes are available starting from 1997.
Electronic periodicals from the following publishing houses are also available:
Cambridge Core Books Social Sciences
Access to 22,000 books published by Cambridge University Press relating to the Social Sciences collection which includes the following disciplines: Anthropology, Archeology, Economics, History, Law, Management, Politics & International Relations, Psychology, Sociology.
Il Mulino’s database provides access to the full text of around 600 monographs published by publishing houses within its scientific research series starting from 2000. Around 370 e-books in the fields of history, philosophy, political science, sociology and psychology are available.
Datamonitor360 / MarketLine Advantage
The databases provide access to economic and financial information published by the Datamonitor Group, including:
- 110 Country Analysis Reports;
- Country Statistics (historical and forecasted macroeconomic and demographic indicators for over 200 countries).
International Encyclopedia of Political Science
Interactive online version of the eponymous Encyclopedia published in 2011 by SAGE and edited by Bertrand Badie, Dirk Berg-Schlosser and Leonardo Morlino. The work examines all of the main thematic areas of political science, such as comparative politics, epistemology, political economy, political sociology and international relations.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
Electronic, continuously updated version of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law, published in print in successive editions between 1991 and 2001 and, starting from 2004, online as well. New entries are added several times during the year.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
The dictionary, in this 2nd edition of 2008, is considered by economists to be a fundamental reference and, in its eight printed volumes, reflects the current state of the economy. The online edition contains 1,977 entries, of which over 1,000 were written for the second edition. Over 1,900 entries from the original 1987 edition can also be accessed.
Portal of the digital library of the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) that allows all monographs and reports published by the OECD, dating back to the 1960s, to be researched.
Online Library of Liberty (open access)
Archive with open access containing the full text of thousands of monographs and edited by the Liberty Fund. The fields covered, which focus on individual freedom, are the social sciences and humanistic studies: economics, law, history, literature, philosophy, political theory, and religion. Chronological coverage extends from the ancient world to the present day.
Oxford Scholarship Online
A “virtual” library that provides access to over 1,500 titles of monographs published by Oxford University Press. There are around 2,000 e-books available in the fields of political science and philosophy.
Taylor & Francis Ebooks
Access to a selection of 80 e-books in the field of Politics published by Taylor & Francis.
- Macroeconomic data and World Development Reports from the World Bank
- Country Profiles from the BBC
- Publications Office of the EU
- EU Open Data Portal
- The compilation of Italian periodicals on history on BSN: Bibliografia Storica Nazionale [National Historic Bibliography]
For legal documentation please refer to the guide to Law.
For statistical and macroeconomic documentation please refer to the guide to Economics.